Search This Blog

Monday, January 23, 2012

No more making fun of Europa league

This is a very realistic view, not complaining (no point doing that anyway)… just facing the facts. Arsenal played the best they could, much improved from the 8-2(not a good comparison I know). We missed getting our payback, by just 7 goals, is how an optimist would see it. Since I am a realist, I would say Man Utd ..Even though they do not have the best squad this season, made the most of their resources. Their manager and players showed maturity and experience . Killing off Arsenal is very easy, even a regular football viewer would know that, forget the experienced managers. We hardly ever comeback after giving away a lead, and if we do take the lead... we need at least a 5 goal cushion to confirm the victory (4-4 with Newcastle taught us that) or , we have to win with the last kick of the match (not a minute more, 1-1 last season with Liverpool equalizing in 98th minute, after we scored in the 97th), since we are forever edgy at the back. We are never calm and composed, I don’t know what it is, maybe it’s the mental anxiety of not having won a trophy since ages now , or very high expectations from a team which is not capable of living upto them.

Clearly, there are loopholes...midfield lacks the cutting edge since fabregas left (we can do without nasri) and defense ( playing 4 center halves). Injuries are there , but replacements are there also, its January!!

Why Arsenal has become so Penny wise and Pound foolish I don’t understand, we are saving here and there but forgetting the bigger picture, it was okay till we were paying the debt and all, but that’s all done… Now what?

If we can blame players like Nasri for leaving the club for money, then since I can remember ,Arsenal is becoming all about the money itself. Getting a new stadium, hiking ticket prices, saving every penny in the transfer window.

And coming back to the match, taking off Chamberlain, was it because he felt that was enough exposure for Ox, Arsene wenger, known for gambling with playing youngsters, would never do that. It did end up affecting Arshavin though(with the crowd reaction), which I think led to him conceding the goal, cause he was already low on confidence. A few things differently, and we could've even won the game(maybe not deserving it though).

More than anything, uptil now in the season we haven’t deserved a top 4 spot. Spurs proved themselves once again, even with the loss. I mean we can reach Chelsea, but in our hearts we know, that we have a better chance catching spurs(who have a tough run coming up)...than Chelsea, who will spend in the transfer window.

And so being realistic again, last few years the intent was the title and we just managed to qualify for UCL. This year intent is ucl spot, so ..you get the idea..dont make fun of europa.

Monday, December 12, 2011

I miss Jerry

Not the Tom and Jerry, jerry, although I miss that jerry too, but the one I am talking about is the one who lived in my house for a while. Initially I wasn’t happy at the thought of it. Jerry was spoilt, destructive and a very naughty kid. I had to keep everything out of his reach, clean up all the mess he created and also he made me do a lot of other work I dint want to do. Even then he had become a part of the house.

Although his cuteness was his biggest asset, over time, I even got use to his annoying habits. In fact it was fun to sneak in and tickle my mom’s feet, so that she would jump and run (100% record with that btw). The idea of living with another living person or creature freaks me out, but he made it possible. I was thinking of getting a pet lately, because I realized how sometimes they help you get your mind off of things ,and he came in (although I prefer fishes). And I was never fond of pets, I always believed that my life was too much to handle, how can I handle theirs (also a reason why I don’t like girls with a lot of emotional baggage too)

But then we couldn’t handle his lifestyle...with his late night partying all over the house, and I think..he even got his friends over sometimes. It was time for him to go, and we knew he wasn’t gonna go easy..he went berserk and so we had to cage him and send him to rehab, where most of his other friends were.

Mice I tell you, no responsibility they take, just want to party and do lukkhagiri. I am in a different phase; I don’t have time for such things now. So bye jerry, cyu around

Rest of the gang is still here though

Even roach has been lost since quite a few days now. Roach is my friend from the bathroom; we are more of an acquaintance, that’s mostly because we hardly have anything in common.

Bl-lizard( blizzard) and I were never really close, and now I watch very less tv , so he’s become a lot closer to my parents since they watch tv and mostly he’s in the hall( where the tv is). So we don’t spend much time together.

Mosquito’s are the uninvited lot, I think of them as vampires (blood suckers, who come at night) and kill them happily, especially when I think of Edward Cullen (that’s what we should name mosquito’s...I am genius). The ants are a great help with the aftermath clean up, I think they love mosquito meat, they do a super job cleaning up the bodies so that there’s no further investigation…in the morning its as if nothing had happened.

The occasional moth, bees, weird looking creatures drop in once In a while and also the helicopter guy (forgot his name, normally find him around grass, very annoying)

The cats and dogs in my building are doing alright as well; we usually hang out during the night, I hate the dogs and their bullying though, they think they rule the roads at night.

The crows are the most selfish bastards of them all, they just come in when they’re hungry...my house is not a gurudwara dude, we don’t serve langar. Pigeons are lazy as ever, don’t even open their mouths to talk, I can relate with them at some level.

I’m sure by now you must have concluded that I am crayz (did you know if you spell it that way, it still has the same pronunciation), but I’m not, seriously. I am just very free , and I hate wasting time, so this is me making use of the way-laa (vela) time.

And no , I don’t live in a jungle (actually I do..The concrete one)

Friday, December 2, 2011

Ra.One – Well D.One

I would like to start by saying that I am not a Shahrukh Khan fan, in fact I hardly watch any of his movies, forget liking them. Its not that he is a bad actor, he is one of the wittiest actors actually, which is the only part of his movies I like. I saw the movie just to give some revenue to SRK, looking at the amount he was spending on promotions. But after watching Ra.one …I am a fan, not of his acting skills or style or whatever, but for his entrepreneurship, marketing, management skills ; courage and diligence.

Ra.One- the Movie

I liked the movie. It was entertaining, different, and pretty funny at times, not a bad story line, good on the eye. If it was made by Spielberg or James Cameron it would have been a blockbuster. His south Indian accent dint stay constant was one of the many small glitches, which coming together had quite a major effect causing a negative effect in the minds of the viewers.

What it got Right

- Freshness

- Science fiction comes to India, finally

- Effects wise, India’s best

- Entertaining

- A pretty original script( there will always be comparisons with many Hollywood movies, but then sometimes credit has to be given to the makers)

What went wrong?

- Marketed as a Superhero movie, when it’s a closer to Science Fiction movie.

- Better editing , I know the masala is needed , but it could have been a little cleaner.

- Indian audiences not ready for sci-fi yet

- Tried too hard- Sometimes, when you have too many ideas on your mind and you want to fit in all of them, it happens.

- Hard sell- The movie was forced on you, with SRK appearing from every nook and corner of every nook and corner. People’s expectations were raised too high and they were also exhausted of anything related to ra.one or srk.

- The explanation of how these things turn real from their virtual character wasn’t good enough(this is suppose to be the base of your movie, Krissh had done this part well with the whole “see the future” thing.

Hollywood Movies from which you think you’ve seen a ra.one scene from

- Spy Kids 3- the whole gaming and its levels

- Terminator - the robot thing, although in ra.one they were’nt technically robots.

- Spider man, superman,etc- The geeky avatar of the Hero

- Bicentennial man- Artificial intelligence, and it can go to the next level( if they have a part 2)

- Iron man

- There was this one Swat kats episode, which had something like this..i don’t remember clearly.

The Business aspect

SRK went all in for this movie, using finding every possible link he had in the world and connecting it to the movie. He went on every possible show, every possible brand he endorsed was associated.He also put in the Don 2 trailer in between all of this. Used his resources to the most, and he made up for the weaknesses of the movie with his amazing marketing,PR and management skills. His guts have to be admired, the risk taken, the hard work he put in

From a management perspective, this should be a case study, because he had made sure his movie would make money before it was even out.

Short note on Economics

I would like to say the following things about economics, in point form-

- If Economics were a person, I would torture it to death. My payback.
- It has overtaken hindi at being the worst subject of all time
- It is a bitch
- It is basically complicating simple things
- In practical use i am a big fan, but in theory it doesnt even make sense sometimes.
- Economics and i have '36 of problems' (chattis ka akda)

So, it can be summarized that, this is what you call "short" notes Mumbai University, and not 8 long pages of gas,faff,rubbish

For further reference you can also check out-
http://amplicate.com/hate/economics

Arsenal Football club or Arsenal Management club?!?!!

(Warning- this contains a lot of personal opinions which you may agree with or not. Whatever it is , this is for me..to let out all what I feel since 2-8th August has left me sleepless and that too on my vacation, where I thought I left all my stress and worldly tensions behind..why did I have to check the score man!)

Yes, Arsenal is the most well managed and financially sound clubs in the present situation. Lot of money coming in, from everywhere..tickets, player sales,merchandise,property,etc.

But the point is whether all the future planning is worth it when you're losing(prospective as well as present) Arsenal supporters just because you don't want to spend higher wages,transfer fees,bonuses.

Not just that, the primary motive of being a football club is not just to make profit, if you don't want to pay those 'inflated rates' for players then you should call yourself Arsenal Management Club, because paying for new or retaining the old players is more important for maintaining the consistency of your game than going against the system and refusing to over pay. The market is such, deal with it.

Okay you have injuries, suspensions, players leaving, but the transfer window is totally open..go ahead and buy. Don't worry about expensive players on the bench, having bench strength is a good thing and problem of plenty is a far better option.
Man city are dumb, but they had a back up for tevez even before he left(was suppose to)! Liverpool, united all have much more than they require..but don't the results show that its worth it?

And the worst part about 28th was not the loss, the worst part was there not being a solution for avoiding further losses like these , forget challenging for the trophies. The defeat means nothing ,I'll just cut off from the world and avoid reading newspapers,watching t.v,etc for a while till I have recovered from it(its not the defeat,its the pain..I have a weak heart). The issue is that its been like this since last few years, don't want trophy..just solve problems.

One more thing, Arsenal play amazing football yes, but even a cricket fan would know that they need the following things since the last million years
1) Physically strong players!!!!!
2) 1 proper experienced goalkeeper
3) More defensive options
4) Defensive mid fielder(look at yaya toure man)
Now we are just back to where we were 4 years back. And this time with RVP being the new fabregas (prior to which. It was Henry). And I don't know but the captains selected should have some leadership skills, performance based or time spent at arsenal or popularity should not be a criteria. Vermaelen would be a better captain than RVP. Fabregas had way too much pressure to handle without the captaincy headache. (P.S I don't blame nasri and fabregas at all, infact fabregas used the perfect word..his game had become 'Stagnant')

In wenger we trust, but sometimes too much. He has to stay but Decentralize the power he has.

I have and will always be a loyal supporter and would rather stop following the EPL than support another club. And I have been one of the most ardent believers in the system(since I am myself a efficiency and productivity freak management student) but ,I think that you need to read 'who moved my cheese' and learn to deal with change, and soon. 3 days for end of August. This 8-2 could be a blessing in disguise and MU could have done us a big favour if you think of it.

Hence Arsenal, since you are not a management club and we can't resign as supporters , stop playing with our emotions and please find a solution.
And let me sleep peacefully one day.

Saturday, June 25, 2011

The stupidest list

Some stupid things that absolutely necessarily mandatorily compulsorily need to be done to become…to become..Umm, stupid (or smart?).

Starting with the basic needs of a stupid being (For Beginners)

1) Dance( in front of more than one person , standing in front of the mirror is not counted)
2) Sing(same assumption as above)
3) Embarrass yourself in several ways un heard of(creativity is vital)
4) Get turned down for something and then ask again
5) Put yourself in awkward situations

For the Regulars-who have the habit but don’t want to take it up as a serious career

1) Public display of anything
2) Laugh at others mistakes only to know you made or will make the same one, soon.
3) Think that politics is the way you think it is
4) Try to put some sense into a fellow stupid
5) Like a person so much as to be feared of being their stalker

Extreme Stupidness (warning- for professionals only)

1) Give a stupid performance on stage or a public place
2) Make a list of stupid things(for example , this )
3) Not know you are stupid(this is pure natural talent, cannot be learnt)
4) Jumping in a well , just to see if its really deep
5) Don’t learn and continue to like the same person and agree to it publically.

But stupid professionals know how to tackle stupid situations with all the stupid experience, they realize how stupid they were and laugh at themselves, sometimes show off about it and realize later how stupid that was too. Some stupid even convince the un-stupid that being stupid is actually smarter...How stupid.

They finally realize they were stupid, but also realize that stupidness is directly proportional to your smartness and hence the stupid-er you do, the smarter you get. How stupid are you to not get this?

Stupid makes you smart. And I am really stupid :P

Saturday, June 11, 2011

My Sister is MEAN!( and so-dumb)

Did I say mean… I meant sweet, I am so use to hearing her say that… All her fault.
So today is my sisters Birthday and she has become very old …ancient... I can’t risk mentioning how old she has become. I don’t mean that old also, in fact mentally she is still 12.
Now coming to why I am being so sweet to her and writing this..this thing..for her. While I was in the middle of some very important work...as I am a very busy working person who doesn’t waste any time at all..ever, I had a thought..that I don’t remember the last meaningful gift I gave her and so I came up with this.( also all her material needs are way out of my budget). Another reason was because I also couldn’t remember the last time I said something good to her, which finalized my decision to write something for her, considering the amount of lovely things I have to say for her.
She is NEVER confused about anything, EASIEST person to live with, NOT short tempered at all and I am NOT jealous of her life one bit (really I am not, although she is practically living the life I want.. but seriously NO)she is infact my fore runner.
Her prettiness is pretty obvious, my sister na.
She is moody, loves her friends, treats me like some faltu, mentally 12 (as I mentioned earlier already)
Everyone is so proud of her and they talk about it all the time..makes life so hard for me.
Now that I have said so much good stuff, it wont be so bad if I add that she is useless, doesn’t take responsibility , doesn’t do any work …just come for some party bloody
I miss you and I love you…sounds so gay to say, but since I said it already okay fine.
See, isn’t this such a wonderful and meaningful gift for you , am I not the best bro ever :P
Happy Birthday so dumb
Now honestly I was really free and wanted to post something on my blog